Team Metalogic achieves Cyber Essentials certification

Team Metalogic Media & Press Releases Leave a Comment

We are pleased to announce that Team Metalogic has been awarded Cyber Essentials certification. Cyber Essentials is a cyber security standard, which certifies that an organisation has measures in place to mitigate the risk from common Internet based threats.

In 2012, HM Government launched the 10 Steps to Cyber Security guide to raise awareness and put cyber security on top of the agenda for all organisations. Feedback received from experts was that security controls were still not being implemented effectively. The Government then reacted and created a new certification as none of the existing standards for cyber security met the requirements. The main aim is to reduce the basic cyber risks and to make the UK a safer place to operate online.

The scheme focuses on Internet-originated attacks against an organisation’s IT system. It provides a clear statement of the basic controls all organisations should implement to mitigate the risk, within the context of the Government’s 10 Steps to Cyber Security. There are five essential mitigation strategies:

  • Boundary Firewalls and Internet Gateways
  • Secure Configuration
  • Access Control
  • Malware Protection
  • Patch Management

The five basic controls within Cyber Essentials were chosen because, when properly implemented, they will help to protect against unskilled internet-based attackers using commodity capabilities – which are freely available on the internet.

Organisations that achieve this certification prove that they take cyber security seriously and assure clients and third parties that have basic protection in place from the most prevalent forms of threats coming from the Internet.

Notes to Editors:

Since 1 October 2014, Cyber Essentials became a minimum requirement for bidding for some government contracts (

For further information please see www.cyberstreetwise.comcyberessentials

Share this Post